PDA

View Full Version : Transparent Aluminum

LA_MERC_Andyconda
December 20th, 2005, 01:25 PM
Yep, you heard me. They have now developed transparent aluminum. Does anyone remeber how Captain Kirk saved the Whales in Star Trek IV. Scotty gave away the secret to transparent aluminum. Well I guess Scotty beamed down recently becuase the government now has it. Being a design Engineer I have to read trade magazines and low and behold I come across an article showing off tranparent aluminum and its use as tranparent armour in military vehicles. Imagine jet fighter cockpit windshields that can withstand multiple .30 calibur armor piercing rounds. That's right. This transparent aluminum can withstand multiple rounds of .30 calibur armor piercing rounds. Not that expensive either at 10-15 dollars per square inch. Well Ok thats expensive for you and me but very impressive to me. ALUMINUM YOU CAN SEE THROUGH, CLEARLY! WOW! This new material is made of a piece of ALONtm, a middle section of glass, and a polymer backing. Each layer visibly thinner than the additional layers. Virtually scratch resistant. The army currently has test vehicles with this material already in use. Some Humvee's, some A-10 Thunderbolts and more.

LA_MERC_Dirge
December 20th, 2005, 01:30 PM
dat's pretty cool. Now you can SEE how much beer you have left in your can!

LA_MERC_Diesel
December 20th, 2005, 01:44 PM
LMAO Dirge.

That is sweet, now we can save all the whales.../in cartman voice/ "damn hippies!!!"

:p:

LA_MERC_Nutria
December 20th, 2005, 01:45 PM
Hell, now I can see outta my house. :doh

LA_MERC_Sabre
December 20th, 2005, 01:49 PM
that's pretty sweet! what magazine did you read that out of Andy?

LA_MERC_Diesel
December 20th, 2005, 01:55 PM
Must of been Playboy?!?!

yeah Nooch will REALLY scare his neighbors now!!!

LA_MERC_Onji
December 20th, 2005, 02:08 PM
This post reminds me of that one way bullet proof glass that came out a few months back:
http://www.labock.com/english/bpg_oneway.htm