PDA

View Full Version : My small help for those without power

LA_MERC_eX1|eS' ch1|d
September 2nd, 2005, 12:42 PM
My dad is an electrician and he rigged his house up so when he loses power he can plug in his generator and power most of his house.

That said I am NOT an electrician and know very little about electric in general.

This should only be done if you are comfortable working with electricity AND working in your circuit breaker box.

He tells me the easiest way to hook up your generator to run your house is to go to Lowes or Home Depot and get a double pull double throw switch that you would hook up just before you main power goes into your breaker box. That way you throw the switch which turns off your main power and switches you to backup. That is the easiest but he said that switch costs a fair chunk of change.

Since my dad is an electrician and used to working on a breaker box he just put in another breaker at the bottom of the panel that he only turns on when his generator is hooked up and running. YOU MUST TURN OFF THE MAIN ELECTRIC BEFORE TURNING ON YOUR BACKUP SWITCH IN THE BREAKER BOX. If you don't then your whole breaker box goes boom when the electric company turns your power back on, even if it's only for a second.