PDA

View Full Version : $3000 Screw Driver

TruckGuy
May 6th, 2005, 07:08 PM
Being a mechanic, I own alot of expensive tools. Believe it or not, last thursday, I found a $3000 screwdriver. A '04 Honda Accord V6 sedan came into the shop with the right side curtain air bag and right seat airbag deployed. The car did't so much as have a scratch on it. The lady who ownes it said she was just driving along and they went off. I knew she had to have hit something, so I pulled it in and put it on the rack. I found an 8'' Stanley screw driver wedged between the floor and the side skirting. It had evidently hit the floor right under the right middle impact sensor and was enough force to deploy the bags. Anyway, after replacing all the SRS parts, the headliner, the right front leather seat back, and several interior panels, her insurance companies bill was $2967.00. This should be a warning to anyone with a later model auto with side curtain or side air bags, "DONT RUN OVER ANYTHING IN THE ROAD!"

LA_MERC_goose
May 6th, 2005, 08:30 PM
I hate those damn curtain air bags! Truthfully, I hate the damn air bags in general - being 10 years fire fighting and auto extrication those damn things are a pain in the rear!

LA_MERC_M@lACHi
May 6th, 2005, 09:47 PM
LOL @ Goose! Yeah, you might say they, but if you have the opportunity to use them (which I hope that you never have to), that impression will change. ;)

TruckGuy
May 7th, 2005, 12:08 PM
One of the service writers in the shop is a Lt.(I think) at West Florence V.F.D. He said his guys dont like airgags either. They dont always all go off in an accident, and the ones that didnt might go off while cutting on the car. He says they also hate the new hybrid cars, cause the manufacturers dont put out much info on disabling the big batteries or what not to cut thru.

LA_MERC_YellowDog
May 7th, 2005, 05:34 PM
LOL!
That reminds me of a car that came into Cales while I was working there, It had all