PDA

View Full Version : vid. card install

LA_MERC_sLingbLade
November 24th, 2004, 04:00 PM
Ok..got the new card via fed ex. On an hp how do I get into the bios running xp to disable the onboard video adapter? Im assuming I have to do this, After I put the new card in, started to boot, went to the xp loading screen and then just hung up with a black screen. And of course I got no instructions in a language I can understand, spanish german chinese, but no English, retards :( Sorry about seeming clueless but I have no experience with hp. :violin

Nyc.Coqui
November 25th, 2004, 08:57 PM
Ummmmm f8 to get into ya bios and look up Vga drivers and disable it or enable it.....

[uGa] Saint
November 25th, 2004, 11:26 PM
yea, i dunno what to tell you, I had to do the same thing two years ago with my HP but i really dont remember what the heck i did, best bet is to just snoop around your bios until you can enable your video via the agp (or pci depending) rather than it being onboard... hope you figure it out, :)

LA_MERC_LaTech
November 26th, 2004, 05:51 AM
We got it fixed, thanks!

aCiD
November 26th, 2004, 07:09 AM
well one way you can just make the new video card the primary is by
1)Turn off Computer.
2)Switch computer back on.
3) Turn off computer again, but this time, plug in your video card.
4)Turn your computer back on and go to your settings in "properties".
5)Under the settings, there should be a little box that has the "Factory Vid Card, and the new one you have pluged in".
6)Click the "new video card". And "Make Primary". Download and install all your new dirvers. Reboot computer and it should now be your primary screen. Hope that helps, thats the way i had to do muh old one.

LA_MERC_sLingbLade
November 26th, 2004, 07:32 AM
Thx all:) Everything be workin and im outta the dog house thanks peeps :)

LA_MERC_MadMAX
November 26th, 2004, 09:29 PM