PDA

View Full Version : Where are my ....

LA_MERC_goose
July 22nd, 2004, 11:04 AM
military peps. I have a few questions and wanted to see if anyone here could answer them before I start making calls to DC. =P

}{y|3ri|)
July 22nd, 2004, 12:22 PM
what branch you want to know about?

LA_MERC_goose
July 22nd, 2004, 12:46 PM
Well, I'll throw my mind set out on the table and see how many people will call me crazy.

My father is retired from 25 yrs in the Navy, my grandfather server in the Navy in WWII, all of my high school friends are Army and I too am leaning toward the Army. I have my Bachelors of Science in Computer Science and was wondering will I have to attend basic or will I go straight to OCS? And where is OCS given? Do I have a choice of field once in the service? Since I have a CS degree I would like to go the computer route but will Uncle Sam allow this?

I'm probably going to be better off finding the local recruiter and sitting down to a brew or two.

LA_MERC_T4rg3T
July 22nd, 2004, 01:03 PM
The airforce would be the way to go as for as computers.

LA_MERC_Captain_Obvious
July 22nd, 2004, 01:10 PM
hey, that's like Lt. Dan (not the Merc). he had a relative who fought and died in every single american war.

and yep, Air force is best place to go for computer route (you could be a rocket scientist hehe)
but if you want to be a bad..um..dude, the Marines might be a good choice.
or, if you just want to serve, but don't want to go full fledged all out, you could go Coast Gaurd. it's sorta like the Navy...instead of fighting foriegn countries, you would fight smugglers.

LA_MERC_Shadow
July 22nd, 2004, 04:38 PM
Whichever branch you choose, just make sure that everything they promise you is in writing. If it ain't they can and often will change it on you.

JUNKY
July 23rd, 2004, 10:56 AM
Oh--and watch out for all of the seamen on those big ol boats

Redneck
July 23rd, 2004, 08:33 PM